FINA Announces Competition Dates For 21st FINA World Championships Doha 2024

LAUSANNE (Switzerland) – FINA has today announced that the 21st FINA World Championships Doha 2024 will take place from 2-18 February 2024 in Doha, Qatar, following a decision by FINA and the Doha 2024 Local Organising Committee.   The 21st FINA World Championships Doha 2024 were originally scheduled for the summer of 2023. However, due to the rescheduling of the 20th FINA World Championships in Fukuoka, Japan, to the summer of 2023 necessitated a change in the Doha event dates.   The Qatari... Read More

2 Victories For Water Polo Women As Team SA Wrap Up World Champs

5 July 2022 – Team South Africa wrapped up their FINA World Championships campaign with the women’s water polo team finishing in 13th place and the men in 12th position. The women’s side claimed two important victories – 14-11 over Colombia and 8-7 over Brazil to secure their 13th place. “The world champs was fantastic for the ladies. This was the first time in history that a South African team managed to win two games at the world championships and got so close to another in terms of our Argen... Read More

Lunkuse, Sates & Saafan Elected To FINA Athletes Committee

BUDAPEST (29 June 2022) – FINA has today announced its inaugural elected Athletes’ Committee for the 2022-2026 period, following a ceremony on the sidelines of the 19th FINA World Championships Budapest 2022. The gender and discipline-balanced Athletes’ Committee, made up of athletes from swimming, diving, high diving, water polo, artistic swimming and open water swimming, will play a major role in ensuring that all voices are at the heart of aquatics are heard and represented equally.  “Athletes are... Read More

Van Niekerk claims 1st World Champs Medal

Saturday, 25 June 2022 – Lara van Niekerk ensured South Africa’s proud record in the World Championships pool continued by bagging a bronze medal in the 50m breaststroke on Saturday night. Competing in her first major event at senior level, the 19-year-old came up against world record-holder Benedetta Pilato and 2013 world champion Ruta Meilutyte in the final. Van Niekerk swam 29.90 to take the bronze, with Meilutyte taking gold for Lithuania in 29.70 and Pinato the silver for Italy in 29.80. Van Niekerk’s perfor... Read More